As Seen on TV logo

Bookmark This Site.
Bookmark and Share

Reviews for Instant Fisherman

Average Customer Review: (36 Reviews, with an average of 2 out of 5)


Click here to read the 36  Reviews for Instant Fisherman or Write Your Own.



Instant Fisherman is a portable, lightweight fishing kit that uses a unique, adjustable, sliding waterproof rod. It’s simple to use, is precision-balanced for the most accurate casting, and strong enough to catch a shark. It makes a great gift for both beginning and advanced fishermen and comes with a 10-year warranty. 


CLICK HERE TO WRITE A REVIEW FOR Instant Fisherman

  1. On July 3, 2014  from Tx wrote this review:

    Ordered 1 and was sent 4 and charged totally bogus. Don't buy.

    Rating: (1/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  2. On April 22, 2014  from Or wrote this review:

    I bought one of these.  It's not bad, but I ended up paying almost $35 after shipping and handling.  To be honest, my Collapsible Shakespeare I paid $20 for does a MUCH better job.  Sure it doesn't get as small but it's VERY compact enough to throw in my car.  My IF is now in the garbage and my Shakespeare is about 5 years old and still going strong

    Rating: (3/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  3. On March 29, 2014  from Queensland wrote this review:

    I purchased one as a Christmas gift for my daughter who travels widely and loves her fishing. When she opened it after returning home from overseas in late January, we tried to spool it with braid only to discover the Drag doesn't work. 3 emails to Customer Service (if you can call it that) later over a 2 month period and NOT ONE REPLY. Disgusted with their appalling lack of Service. Would not recommend this product or its distributor, Global Shop Direct, to anyone.

    Rating: (1/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  4. On January 18, 2014  from victoria wrote this review:

    Omg such a waste of money doesn't cast cant set drag its made from cheap nasty material. After one use we threw it in the rubbish. Don't waste your money

    Rating: (1/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  5. On December 28, 2013  from QLD australia wrote this review:

    The product is presented well on TV. After taking it out of the box and opening it, I found a problem straight away with the rod not locking open. After a friend and I looked it more closely we decided to file a little bit of the shaft where it locks together and found that, this done the trick. Great idea, but it could do with a few improvments, ie; if the rod hinged the other way I believe the rod would lock up a lot better. as for casting, great and fantastic on the kayak and I`m looking forward to giving it a good try next trip.

    Rating: (5/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  6. On October 12, 2013  from QLD wrote this review:

    I was given one for christmas,only opened it last week,reel sounded like a coffee grinder when tying on a lure, OK i thought, maybe it should make this noise, went down to the river and after the third cast I gave up,the reel failed, would not retrieve line,only time i have been happy not to catch a fish,crown and pinion gears are stuffed and after reading all the reviews i feel sorry for my friends that bought it for me.not a happy fisherman.don't buy one.

    Rating: (1/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  7. On November 12, 2012  from Ky wrote this review:

    I bought 3 Instant Fisherman when they first came out about 5-6 years ago and haven't had a problem with the product outside of normal fishing type experiences (i.e. broken lines, lost lures,etc.) I would recommend the the product to anyone. I am not an avid or experienced fisherman, but as a weekend summer warrior it suits my purposes just fine.

    Rating: (5/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  8. On May 10, 2012  from South Dakota wrote this review:

    I can't believe the negative comments on the Instant Fisherman. I have nothing but good comments on it. I have used it for over a year and caught a lot of fish with no problems. When I tried to fix my line after I was snagged I ended up really messing up my reel. I called the company  to purchase another reel, it was my fault, and they told me to ship back the broken reel along with the rod and today I received my brand new rod AND reel. The company has incredible integrity and I will continue to use and praise their product.

    Rating: (5/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  9. On March 11, 2012  from NC wrote this review:

    I bought the product in Feb. I paid 63.74 plus shipping/ handling. As soon as I got it I opened the box, I put a 10 lb test line on it and when I unscrewed the cap it broke. I could have bought a regular reel for that price,for better quality. This is am piece of junk.

    Rating: (1/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  10. On January 15, 2012  from Illinois wrote this review:

    I have an older model, it sounds like an old fashioned coffee grinder, but the darn thing catches fish. I've used in the Sylvania Wilderness in WI, and caught up to 3lb smallmouth bass. I've used off a pier in CA and caught small sandsharks. It "ain't" pretty, but its convenient, and does the trick!

    Rating: (4/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  11. On July 8, 2011  from Wa wrote this review:

    I opened the product and used the product one time fishing. The very first cast it broke off. The product was junk. I called Customer Service to see if they would replace it and they said they would after sending $6.95 plus the amount it would cost to send it. I can buy one at Walmart for that. All I can say is JUNK, JUNK

    Rating: (1/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  12. On June 12, 2011  from MI wrote this review:

    Piece of Junk, you can buy a nice combo from Walmart for the money these people are stealing from everyone.

    Rating: (1/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  13. On May 9, 2011  from Nj wrote this review:

    This product is horrible! I saw the commercials on tv and instantly fell in love with the idea. They say you can catch big fish, and a million other lies. The only thing true is that it's portable...but other than that it's garbage. It took about 2 months to come in the mail. I paid 24 dollars for shipping! It should've came the next day! when it finally did come, one of them was broken, and the other broke with only 3 hours of use. The line is short. This product is shoddy, poorly made, a childrens toy that will not last...this company should be sued and shutdown, bunch of thieves.

    Rating: (1/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  14. On April 6, 2011  from CA wrote this review:

    THIS THING IS A PICE OF CR*P!! I got this april 5, 2011 I just opened the thing it looks like a freaking toy, I took it out of its packageing and the stupid line was tangled, after undoing that I test the line and look at the flex and guess what happened, SNAP.....the freaking thing snaps on me. After that happens I find out that there was a screw on the ground and that it was striped at the end, well come to find out that it came from the instant fisherman the rod that can supposedly catch a shark.....my advice save your money and don't buy it.

    Rating: (1/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  15. On March 14, 2011  from oh wrote this review:

    I had ordered this product over 2 months ago! I should have received it by now but have'nt. I have tried to call and cancel the order but there is no contact info to reach them. This is a bogus and bad web site. The instant fisherman is not worth the hassle or my time even typing the information in to order it. My advice don't waste your time or money on this product.

    Rating: (1/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  16. On February 20, 2011  from FL wrote this review:

    I always hear about scams, but never thought it would happen to me. This is a real life scam, no two ways about it. These are toys, they are pieces of junk. It took over a month to get the rods and when they arrived, boy was I shocked. They are five dollar toys. It took twenty minutes on the phone and they wont tell you your total until all is said and done. You cannot cancel your order and after hearing all the offers you cannot get through to an operator. After reading all of the accounts of people sending the rods back and not getting a refund. I have regretfully decided that I bought 65.00 worth of toys for my daughter.

    Rating: (1/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  17. On January 27, 2011  from PA wrote this review:

    I ordered this thing in December and it is now the end of January and didn't receive it. I paid an extra shipping to get it quicker. I'm glad I didn't go the regular shipment! Now I try to call the customer service number and a recording comes on giving you a long number then goes in to a fast busy signal. If you do a reverse look up in the yellow pages, it comes up with no information. Now, I am wondering if all of us got scammed with a Christmas gift rush. If you read this, don't buy it! Check out the resources first. And don't use a debit card as a credit card. You can't dispute it because, even used as a credit card, it comes out of your account. I just hope that IF I ever get the product that it is not a peice of junk as stated in most reviews. I will update this IF I ever get it!

    Rating: (1/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  18. On October 29, 2010  from NC wrote this review:

    A Piece of Junk. Received from daughter as Christmas gift. Broke the first day used. Returned for replacement. After months and months of follow-up & rude customer service, finally receive two more. Same thing, both broke. There should be a law against selling this CRAP. Don't Do It, Save Your money. A totally disappointed customer.This is JUNK.

    Rating: (1/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  19. On October 11, 2010  from OR wrote this review:

    If it's too good to be true it is. I purchased 1 and got 1 free. It fell apart the 2nd time out. Rod's extension Knob fell off in river as I was casting. Retrieve doesn't work, unless drag is tightened all the way. Junk!!!

    Rating: (1/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  20. On October 4, 2010  from IL wrote this review:

    I bought my instant fisherman when it first came out, several years back. Although it looks cheap and junky, and sounds like an old fashioned coffee grinder, it works just fine and fits the bill for being portable and catching fish. I keep it in a Zebco reel cover and it's in my truck at all times. The biggest fish I have caught on it, was a 4lb smallmouth bass while fishing in the Sylvania Wilderness. The reel had more than enough power to bring it in, and the rod's length really assisted in fighting and landing (from a canoe). I took my instant fisherman to Nunavut Canada last year on a caribou hunt. After getting my bulls I reverted to fish for grayling. Again it worked like a champ, and I caught fish until my arm ached. I call it "my coffee grinder" and although I have many more expensive lines and reels, it's still my preferred back up. If I remember it took quite a while after ordering to get, but worth waiting for. If you buy a Banjo (different dealer) kit to fish with, they make for a great combo. Don't judge a book by its cover, use it, it works great.

    Rating: (5/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  21. On September 21, 2010  from OH wrote this review:

    I have used one for 2 years, and it works ok. But you get what you pay for. I've used other telescoping rods before, and it's not hard to align the eyes. I ride a bus or bicycle to go fishing and with this at least I know the rod won't get broken on the trip. I don't think I'd recommend it for sharks or marlin or "Moby Dick" but it works for what I need it to do. Good for spur of the moment fishing.

    Rating: (3/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  22. On August 31, 2010  from ND wrote this review:

    Nice commercial, lousy product. Reels don't stand up to the least bit of pressure.

    Rating: (1/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  23. On August 25, 2010  from co wrote this review:

    It sucks all 3 of mine broke and no money back!

    Rating: (1/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  24. On August 5, 2010  from TX wrote this review:

    I ordered these and 1 was in pieces when it arrived so did not open the other it was easy to see they are JUNK. I returned them now they say returns are NOT PIORITY. I will be turning them into the BBB!!! They are a SCAM!!!!!Overall Rating -10

    Rating: (1/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  25. On August 4, 2010  from pa wrote this review:

    I bought 2 poles and within the first hour of fishing they both broke what a joke! They were christmas presents ba humbug they are replacing them thats all they will do, I DO NOT WANT THEM THEY ARE JUNK! PLEASE SAVE YOUR MONEY.DO NOT BUY THEM.there should be a no star rating

    Rating: (1/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  26. On July 28, 2010  from TX wrote this review:

    NEVER BUY an "Instant Fisherman", it is a P.O.S!!! If you are ever tempted to buy from the infomercial, don't do it!! I bought two, and had to have the first replaced after the first time I used it. They keep my return on the shelf for 6 weeks so the 100% money back guarantee time would expire and I could not get a refund. To top that off the 2nd Instant Fisherman, that is "supposed to land a shark", had its gears stripped out by a 2 lb bass. I just found out that in order to get a replacement I have to return the unit and a check for $6.95 for return postage to me. Instead of that I am posting this email on every site I can to point out what a crappy(...no pun) product they sale. I am not going to waste another $6.95 for shipping. Whew, I feel better now!

    Rating: (1/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  27. On June 15, 2010  from MI wrote this review:

    I was a victim of a fraudulent purchase to this company and they would not cancel my order even though the item had not shipped yet...customer service was NOT helpful at all. I don't know if this is a good product or not but the company and their policies SUCK!!!

    Rating: (1/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  28. On June 14, 2010  from VA wrote this review:

    what a piece of junk. I got two of them (buy 1 get 1 free)and both of them broke on the very first time I tried using them. The line broke on the first one, with no instructions on how to replace it. On the 2nd one the screw that keep the rod extended fell apart. My advice to anyone thinking about buying this is "Dont do It".

    Rating: (1/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  29. On June 7, 2010  from TX wrote this review:

    Instant fisherman is an instant piece of junk. My son loves to fish. In fact, he would rather have his line in the water than doing anything else. When he saw this product, he couldn't wait to purchase it. He used his own money that he saved up from working odd jobs and allowance. I cautioned him about buying items from infomercials but he was sure that he wanted it and said that it had to be a good product because of the 10 year warrantee. I went to the web site and couldn’t believe the ordeal I had to go through just to order the stupid thing. There were multiple pop-up pages asking to purchase additional items and the shipping and handling charges were outrages. I looked for a way to cancel the order, but that is not an option once you start down the path and they get the credit card info @ the beginning of the process. And buy one get one free, what a joke. My son ended up paying $63.74. The day my son received the package in the mail, he had to go try it out. I took him down to a nearby fishing spot and, well it work just ok. It seemed very cheaply made and was not smooth as you would suppose for what it cost. The second time he went to use the product, it would not cast more than 10 feet. What a let down for a boy who loves the sport of fishing. This company should be run out of business. My hope is that this review will stop at least one person for making the same mistake. We are within our 30 days, so we will be able to get our money back minus shipping and handling, $39.90 out of $63.74. Hopefully the return will go better than the purchase, but somehow I doubt that it will.

    Rating: (1/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  30. On May 13, 2010  from WV wrote this review:

    I received one from my father-in-law. I did catch a fish on it the first time I tried it but it fell apart - I had to pull my fish in by the line as the pole and reel didn't work. I agree with the other reviews. Completely useless .. a total ripoff.

    Rating: (5/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  31. On March 16, 2010  from Oh wrote this review:

    I purchased two rods with two free. As stated per phone order with separate shipping and handling charges. When the rods arrived they were in one box. Why the separate shipping charges. The shipping and handling charges amounted to over 78.00dollars. ridiculous!. Upon Checking The rods all were defective. Calling the company back was a big runaround, after 45 minutes and a return order number. I was told I also would get my shipping costs back as well.This call per company was recorded. Well I never got my shipping cost refunded. It also cost me 9.00dollars to return the product. So why do they charge me over 78.00 dollars plus to ship this to me originally? A total ripoff!

    Rating: (1/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  32. On December 16, 2009  from TX wrote this review:

    Ah, Where to begin,I called the order line only to get an automated long drawn out sales pitch wanting me to buy everything under the sun.The total of my purchase was supposed to be roughly $65.oo bucks, the total stated at the end of the call said $127.oo!! There is no way to accept or decline the total! I then called the customer info line to cancel the transaction.I was told that a report of my request to cancel the order would be sent.I asked them to whom would they send this request? No answer that made sense was offered. I pressed further and a supervisor named Francis ID # 81855 gave me a bogus number to Telebrands inc in NJ.I called that # and was told that Telebrands does not handle the instantfisherman!This is fraud!I will forward any and all info when I get to the bottom of this to this site.DO NOT ORDER FROM This company!!!!Companies like this may think that by creating hoops and obstacles for valid complaints and requests for resolution can evade legal responsibilities.They are sadly mistaken.When one commits fraud by telephone and or INTERNET,they can open themselves up to federal criminal charges!I should know,I am a prosecutor with the Texas atty generals office.Feel free to e-mail me with any and all info pertaining to this company.www.wemountainfolk@hotmail.com

    Rating: (1/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  33. On November 24, 2009  from Ontario wrote this review:

    Plain and simple.....Piece of Junk. I received this for a gift and wouldn't be caught dead using it!

    Rating: (1/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  34. On September 22, 2009  from TN. wrote this review:

    I bought this fisherman some time back, they had a buy one get one free. Well guess what, I never got the 2nd one and the one I did get is still in the box, I have not used it and don't plan on it any time soon. Don't like it at all.


    Rating: (1/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  35. On September 8, 2009  from MI wrote this review:

    This company is a rip off! I called and canceled the order before it was shipped and they still sent it. I returned it with the number written on the box unopened. This was in July. And I have been battling with them ever since to get my money back. Every time I call I get the same speel. I will send your request to the main company and you should get your refund in 3-5 days. And nothing! I would stay away from these rip off artists.

    Rating: (1/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


  36.   from IL wrote this review:

    It's a toy. I don't know how they think anyone could use this seriously for fishing. I bought 3. 1- for me and 2- for grandkids. As soon as I opened the box I knew I had been taken. I called their 800 number to return them and waited almost 30- minutes to talk to a rep. They gave me RMA number to send back, which I did that day 8/1/08 USPS. They received it back 8/21/08 but as of 10/27/08 my credit card has not been credited. What a joke!

    Rating: (1/5 stars)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
     


The Instant Fisherman reviews above are from visitors to our website that have independently submitted their commments to us. We display them on as-seen-on-tv-reviews.net to help inform our visitors. These reviews are not the opinion of as-seen-on-tv-reviews.net.

CLICK HERE TO WRITE A REVIEW FOR Instant Fisherman



Most Popular Reviews

Smooth Away
Aluma Wallet
Loud N Clear
Patch Perfect
Point N Paint
Swivel Sweeper
Worx Gt Grass Trimmer
Ped Egg
Samurai Shark
Awesome Auger
Space Bags
Infinity Razor
Magic Jack
Zquiet
Instant Fisherman
One Touch Can Opener
Pedi Paws
Proactiv
Easy Feet
Magic Bullet

Latest Products
Please help us to review these.

Citikitty Cat Toilet Training Kit
Instant Zipper
Eggies
Fast Brite
Garden Groom
Grout Bully
Flex Seal
Magic Mesh
Smoke Assist
Pure Sleep
Bug Patch
Perfect Meatloaf
Waterproof Pet Seat Cover
Furniture Fix
Swivel Store
Batter Pro
Comfort Control Harness
Ez Moves
The Rack
Stadium Back
One Step Mud Mat
Aluma Wallet
Chef Basket
Ba'noodle
One Second Needle
Dentek Triple Clean Floss
Flex Belt
Slim T's
Total Pillow
Edenpure Gen4
Dremel Multi-max
Krud Kutter
Neat Desk
Easy Feet
Kangaroo Keeper
Rejuvenate
Xpress Redi Set Go
Ez Cracker
Ab Rocket
Egg Genie
Mister Steamy
Belly Burner Belt
Wow Container
Ez Grill
Fushigi Ball
Bark Buster
6 Second Abs
Adjustable Garment Rack
Zquiet
Magic Bullet

Latest Reviews

Deluxe Gopher
I bought 2 and both the screw & cup keeps fallen off & lost the screw so. It' .... read more   
Maria Crigler

Deluxe Gopher II
Used it twice and the line inside will not allow the handle to work rendering it useless feel as though I wasted my .... read more   
Shirley

Stone dine pan
The worst pan I have ever used the adds are bulls**t everything sticks to this pan!! The cheapest non stik pan I can find is way better than this .... read more   
Mike jamieson

deluxe gopher pick up & reaching tool
Anyone know how can I get new suction .... read more   
matt dugan

Engrave It
I gave to son as a gift but actually the entire family loves it. Does anyone know if & where I can purchase the tip only- after using it for a while it's not pointy enough. i highly .... read more   
sue

Porta Book
I don't understand these reviews. I not only have several I use at both office and home, but I have bought numerous ones and given them as gifts to clients.  We love them.  I had one .... read more   
Phil

wobble bubble
This thing is a piece of junk when I went to play with it with my daughter we had a hole in it in ten minutes of play. It's going back to Walmart the .... read more   
Bob

wubble ball
I purchased 2 for my grandkids for easter - the pink one popped within a few minutes (I didn't even try to blow up the other)- going to get my $ back for .... read more   
deb roberts

redi set go
If I could give this product -10 stars I would. This product was a big disappointment.  When I received it, I gave one to my daughter and kept one for myself.  She called me and said .... read more   
Tyara M

one sweep
I love it and I have had it for years now looking to buy .... read more   
Laura